R Parsons In December 2009, Robert Parsons was presented with the Polaris Award from the Canadian Coast Guard Newfoundland Region Alumni Association, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the preservation and public awareness of marine heritage and history in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador. This award has only been given out two previous times in the years of the Alumni existence. His book Cape Race: Stories from the Coast that Sank the Titanic, been published by Flanker Press.
Dr Hanrahan Dr. Maura Hanrahan is the recipient of the Canadian Coast Guard Newfoundland Region Alumni Association's 2014 Polaris Award. The award consists of a framed scroll for the recipient and a brass porthole in the recipient's honour. Dr. Hanrahan is the author of several books, including The Alphabet Fleet, The Pride of the Newfoundland Coastal Service, Domino: The Eskimo Coast Disaster, The Doryman, and Tsunami: The Newfoundland Tidal Wave Disaster.
transfer On June 17, 2017 at the Cape Spear Art Gallery the official transfer of the two buildings and land from CCG DFO Real Property to the Canadian Coast Guard Alumni Association took place. President Gerry Cantwell accepted on behalf of CCGAA.
The collage below shows some of the donations to charity given by the Canadian Coast Guard Newfoundland Region Alumni Association.
Charity Collage
CCGAA membership, with support of Mr. Leslie Noseworthy, visit schools in the region and describe the evolution of activities within Coast Guard throughout history. The presentation is integrated with art lessons and the selection of students to receive art kits and lighthouse posters. The demand for this service continually increases and donations for the acquisition of art kits continues to grow.